2015 Schedule Includes Return of the Outlaws and 24 Events for 50th Anniversary Season

PLACERVILLE, CA (1-6-15) – Placerville Speedway has finalized the schedule for the upcoming Red Hawk Casino 50th Anniversary Championship Season at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds. The 2015 racing schedule will feature an action packed calendar consisting of 24 events at the high banked quarter mile bullring carved in the hillside of the community once known as "Old Hangtown" in the days of the Gold Rush.

As the high banked lady in red enters her Golden Anniversary season, the schedule of events to come clearly illustrates that there is still gold in these hills in the eyes of avid race fans as Handy Racing Promotions brings a multitude of high profile events to the track that has been home to auto racing since the summer of 1965 when a community football field hosted hard top racing for the very first time and "Hangtown Speedway" was born.Red Hawk Casino

The 2015 racing season opens up with a practice night for competitors on Sunday evening, March 29th. The following week the season roars into action in grand fashion with the King of the West Sprint Car Series bringing 410 cubic inch sprint car action to the bullring on Saturday night, April 4th. The KWS event is a prelude to an epic night of 410 sprint car racing as the following Wednesday night, the National World of Outlaws Sprint Car Tour will roll into Placerville Speedway for the first time in over 20 years.

The return of the World of Outlaws to Placerville is a much anticipated event as Grass Valley Native Brad Sweet, who began his sprint car racing career on the banks of Placerville has teamed with World Racing Group and Handy Racing Promotions to bring the National tour back to his home track with the Brad Sweet Presents Short Track Outlaw Showdown, both of whom were instrumental in the Outlaw's development in California. Tickets are already selling fast online for this event that is being promoted through the World of Outlaws and are currently available online at www.woosprint.com. All tickets for this event will be reserved seating and an early sell out is expected.

Following the assault of the Greatest Show on Dirt, Placerville Speedway will wave the green flag on the Red Hawk Casino Championship Series presented by Hoosier Racing Tires, Coors Light and the Mountain Democrat on Saturday night, April 11. This season, every night of action at Placerville Speedway will feature winged sprint cars with the combination of championship point events and four special nights of racing bannered as the Placerville Posse Sprint Car Challenge.Red Hawk Casino

The Posse Sprint Car Challenge is named after a familiar term known as the "Placerville Posse," consisting of popular locals that have made Placerville Speedway their home track through the years and drawing a strong fan base of area residents who pack the grandstands each week in support of their local racer.

In years past, winged sprint cars would be absent from action on nights when other events in the region were taking place. Much to the liking of local drivers and fans, this season will not be the same with the inception of the Posse Sprint Challenge.  Any driver who wins all four of these special races will receive a $2000 bonus sponsored by Red Hawk Casino. If no one driver can accomplish the feat, the bounty will be split among the winners of the series accordingly. Placerville Posse Sprint Challenge Races will include April 11 and 25th and August 1 and 22nd. Two events are non points nights for the sprint cars while the other two are championship events as well.

The 2015 championship campaign this season will feature winged 360 sprint cars in 13 total point events. Limited Late Models will race for the crown in 17 events as will the Pure Stock division. The three track anchor divisions will be joined by a number of guest divisions throughout the season, making for an action packed racing program each week.

The Nor Cal Dwarf Cars are slated for five visits in 2015. The Bay Cities Racing Association will bring the traditional midget division to the bullring on two different nights during the year and the Midget Lite division a total of nine times throughout the year. The 410 sprint cars of the King of the West Sprint Cars will race a pair of events this season with the season opener followed by a return visit on July 18. The Civil War Sprint Car Series is slated for two Placerville appearances including May 30 and August 8. The California Hardtop Association is also on the race card with two season visits while the wingless sprint cars will make a sole appearance, competing with the Civil War Series in their first visit of the year.

Season event notables include Placerville's richest annual race of the year, the Mark Forni Classic which celebrates its 10th anniversary on August 8th. Independence Day and auto racing come together with the annual July Fourth Spectacular on Saturday, July 4th. Mountain Democrat Kid's Night will be August 15th this year and will be followed by the annual Hangtown Destruction Derby presented by the Placerville Police Officers Association on Sunday, August 16th.

The 2015 season will conclude with high winning events. On Saturday, September 5th the second annual Tribute to Donnie Tilford returns with the sprint cars taking home $2000 to win, Limited Late Models $1000 and Pure Stocks $500. The following week will mark the Tribute to Al Hinds which pays identical amounts and will crown the season champions.

The drivers will be recognized for their efforts shortly after the season concludes with the Red Hawk Casino Championship Awards Dinner on Saturday night, October 10th, tentatively.

For the complete schedule of the 2015 racing season click HERE.

Associate sponsorships will be detailed in the weeks leading up to the season opener. For information on becoming an associate or division sponsor at Placerville Speedway please inquire by email at placervillespeedway@gmail.com.

Join over 5000 friends of Placerville Speedway on Facebook, where you can interact with fellow fans, drivers and staff and follow them on twitter to keep up to date on events to come. You can also find Placerville Speedway on twitter for schedule updates and more by following them @pvllspeedway.

Placerville Speedway is located on the El Dorado County Fairgrounds at 100 Placerville Drive in Placerville. The facility is operated by Handy Racing Promotions which can be reached at their business office at (916) 783-3478.

RH SSR Placerville

Placerville Speedway Welcome’s Red Hawk Casino and Shingle Springs Band of Miwok Indians as Title Sponsor

PLACERVILLE, CA (1-6-15) – As Placerville Speedway embarks on a landmark 50th Anniversary Season, it is proud to welcome Red Hawk Casino and the Shingle Springs Band of Miwok Indians as the official title sponsor… ...Read More.

WOO Short Track Showdown

Brad Sweet Bringing World of Outlaws to Placerville Speedway

California native returns ‘The Greatest Show on Dirt’ to his favorite California track for the first time since 1992 CONCORD, N.C. — Nov. 4, 2014 — Brad Sweet and the World of Outlaws announced Tuesday… ...Read More.


Championship Awards Dinner is November 22; Make your reservations early

The 2014 Jackson Rancheria Casino Racing season has recently come to a close at Placerville Speedway and Handy Racing Promotions wishes to thank all of our teams, our sponsors and our dedicated fans for a… ...Read More.